2016 Scholarship Recognition Luncheon


Nearly 230 attendees--the most ever--took part in the 2016 Scholarship Recognition Luncheon on Saturday, February 6 at SMSU. This annual event highlights the stories of some of our SMSU student scholarship recipients. It is also an opportunity for scholarship recipients and their family members to meet the donors who fund their scholarships. Attendees hear first-hand the powerful impact scholarships have on the lives of SMSU students. 

Tolk Scholarship Recipients Named

The recipients of the annual Tolk Scholarship were announced at the luncheon. Five SMSU students were selected from over 30 nominees. SMSU faculty and staff nominate candidates and SMSU Foundation Board of Directors select the winners.

Each of the students below will receive a $5,000 scholarship for the 2016-17 academic year:

Haiat Nur, freshman, Marshall, Minn.

Steven Yang, sophomore, Walnut Grove, Minn.

Samantha Pardy, sophomore, Madison, S.D.

Taylor Schreier, junior, Currie, Minn.

Amy Thomas, junior, Ghent, Minn.

Below are videos from this year's event, including comments from SMSU President Connie J. Gores and testimonials from the scholarship luncheon student speakers.To hear the stories of this year's presenters, please click on the images below.

Bruce Saugstad ('89), SMSU Foundation Board of Directors

Samantha Pardy, sophomore, Madison, S.D.

Paige Yi, junior, Algona, Iowa

Zach Specht, senior, Marcus, Iowa

Davontay Stevens, senior, Jacksonville, Flor.

Mu Mu Aye, sophomore, Marshall, MN

Dr. Connie J. Gores, SMSU President

Bill Mulso, SMSU Foundation Executive Director, VP of Advancement